The China Cats

The China Cats are:

Matt Hartle: lead guitar and vocals

Mike Owens: drums

Roger: bass

Scott Cooper: rhythm guitar and vocals

Steven Sofranko: keyboards and vocals

The China Cats were formed in Santa Cruz, CA in 2008 as the band "Dough Knees" by Scott Cooper, Roger Sideman, Steve Sofranko, Theo Winston, and Justin Christensen, talented musicians who wanted to play some of our favorite music.  Earliest gigs were at the Catalyst in Santa Cruz and Henflings Roadhouse in Ben Lomond.  In 2009, the band rechristened itself the China Cats.  In 2010, Matt Hartle took over on lead guitar, and Michael Owens took the drum chair, and the current lineup performed its first gig on March 27, 2010 at the Catalyst.  Since that time, the China Cats have played throughout Northern California, establishing themselves as NorCal's premier Grateful Dead tribute band.

Additionally, we've put on shows with many guest musicians, including: Donna Jean Godchaux, Melvin Seals, Burt Lewis, Sunshine Becker, Paul Garcia, Bret Bailey, Jeff Faust, Amy Gabel Berry, Mike Meagher, Rob Wenig, Paige Clem, Neil Hampton, Dave Faulkner, Andy Birchett, Mark Corsolini, Keith Graves, Jimmy Hubbard, Jim Lewin, Will McCosker, and Jerry Brown .